NALP Board of Directors and Leaders

NALP members may click here to access contact information for NALP's Board of Directors and other leaders.

Board of Directors
Regional Structure
Regional Leadership Council
Conference Planning Coordinators
Nominating Committee
Officer Position Descriptions


Board of Directors 2022-2023

See the NALP Membership Directory (member login required) to find contact information for Board members and other leaders.


Karl Riehl
Epstein Becker Green, P.C.

Vice-President for Member Services and Education

Gwendolyn Ferrell
Louisiana State University, Paul M. Hebert Law Center

Vice-President for Finance

Jennifer Henfey
Villanova University Charles Widger School of Law

Vice-President for Diversity, Equity & Inclusion

Courtney Carter
Jenner & Block LLP


Tony Waller
University of Georgia School of Law


Alison Ashe-Card
Wake Forest University School of Law

Jeff Becherer
New York Law School

Dana Gray
Faegre Drinker Biddle & Reath LLP

Lynn Iding
Stewart McKelvey

Marlon Lutfiyya
Neal, Gerber & Eisenberg LLP

Maureen Reilly
University of Pennsylvania Carey Law School

Melanie Rowen
Latham & Watkins LLP

Jessica Sisco
Scale LLP

Arturo Thompson
University of Utah S.J. Quinney College of Law

Immediate Past President

Traci Mundy Jenkins
Venable LLP

Regional Structure

NALP members within the United States fall into one of five regions: Northeast, Mid-Atlantic, Southeast, Midwest, and West/Rocky Mountain. Each of these general regions elects two representatives to the Nominating Committee, two Regional Representatives, and one Conference Planning Coordinator. The Conference Planning Coordinators play a significant role in planning and implementing specific components of the Annual Education Conference. The Nominating Committee solicits nominations for all NALP elected positions, slates members for the Officer and Director positions, and administers the election process.  The Regional Representatives serve on the Regional Resource Council and facilitate the flow of information between members and the Board, identify regional issues and volunteer opportunities, and support the existing groups in the region (e.g. city groups).

At the 2006 NALP annual business meeting, the bylaws were amended to permit creation of limited regions, and in July 2006, the NALP Board of Directors voted to make Canada NALP's first limited region. Limited regions elect one person to serve on the Nominating Committee or as a Conference Planning Coordinator in alternate years. Limited regions also elect one Regional Representative each year to serve a one-year term.  Limited regions permit broader governance participation by members who are in geographic areas that do not currently have the numbers to support full regional status.

For more detailed information about NALP's structure, nominations and election process, and opportunities to become involved, visit the "About NALP" section of NALP's website at

NALP Geographic Regions

MID-ATLANTIC (MA) New Jersey (southern), Delaware, Pennsylvania, Maryland, District of Columbia, Virginia.

MIDWEST (MW) Ohio, Indiana, Illinois, Missouri, Kansas, Nebraska, Iowa, North Dakota, South Dakota, Michigan, Minnesota, Wisconsin.

NORTHEAST (NE) Maine, New Hampshire, Vermont, Massachusetts, Connecticut, Rhode Island, New York, New Jersey (northern).

SOUTHEAST (SE) West Virginia, North Carolina, South Carolina, Georgia, Florida, Tennessee, Kentucky, Arkansas, Alabama, Mississippi, Louisiana, Puerto Rico, Texas, Oklahoma.

WEST/ROCKY MOUNTAIN (W/RM) Arizona, New Mexico, Utah, Colorado, Wyoming, Idaho, Alaska, Hawaii, California, Nevada, Washington, Oregon, Montana.

CANADA (Limited Region)

Back to top

2022-2023 Regional Resource Council

See the NALP Membership Directory (member login required) to find contact information for Regional Representatives and other leaders.


Lisa Del Col (2022-2023)
York University - Osgoode Hall Law School


Jennifer Whitehurst (2021-2023)
Villanova University Charles Widger School of Law

Rob Hashimoto (2022-2024)
Sterne, Kessler, Goldstein & Fox P.L.L.C.

Sharon Buckingham (2022-2024)
Villanova University Charles Widger School of Law


Katherine Calabrese (2021-2023)
Ropes & Gray LLP

Jennifer Leibowitz (2021-2023)
New York University School of Law

Christie Vonk (2022-2024)
King & Spalding

Larissa Brewster (2022-2024)
Boston University School of Law


Alisa Benedict O’Brien (2021-2023)
University of Akron School of Law C. Blake McDowell Law Center

Sarah Kastelic (2021-2023)
Foley & Lardner LLP

Makiah Scott (2022-2024)
Neal, Gerber & Eisenberg LLP

Paul Johnson (2022-2024)
University of Illinois Chicago School of Law


Beth Lee (2021-2023)
Southern Methodist University Dedman School of Law

Tiffany Piccirilli (2021-2023)
Willkie Farr & Gallagher LLP

Tanisia Charles (2022-2024)
Jones Day

Amy McCarthy (2022-2024)
Georgia State University College of Law

West/Rocky Mountain

Robin Apodaca (2021-2023)
Chapman University The Dale E. Fowler School of Law

Heather Keltner (2021-2023)
Latham & Watkins LLP

Ashley Gardner (2022-2024)
O'Melveny & Myers LLP

Elizabeth Granlund (2022-2024)
University of California, Berkeley School of Law

Back to top

2022-2023 Conference Planning Coordinators

See the NALP Membership Directory (member login required) to find contact information for Conference Planning team members and other leaders.

Rebecca Calman (Chair)
Sullivan & Cromwell LLP

Rob Cacace (Vice Chair)
Georgetown University Law Center

Jennifer Lau (Vice Chair)
Cassels Brock & Blackwell LLP

Michael Molas (Vice Chair)
Queen's University Faculty of Law

Myriah Graves (Canada)
Fogler, Rubinoff LLP

Jennifer Gewertz (Mid-Atlantic)
Arnold & Porter

Tasha Everman (Midwest)
University of Nebraska College of Law

Rochelle McCain (Northeast)
Yale Law School

Jennifer Gibert Mencarini (Southeast)
Fox Rothschild LLP

Deverie Hart (West/Rocky Mountain)
Davis Wright Tremaine LLP

Felipe Alonso
University of Oregon School of Law

Dyana Barninger
Faegre Drinker Biddle Reath LLP

Trisha A. Fillbach
US Department of Justice

Christina Henry

Schulte Roth & Zabel LLP

Robin Thorner
St. Mary's University School of Law

Rashida West
Drexel University Thomas R. Kline School of Law

Pam Cyr (Local Host)
Norton Rose Fulbright Canada LLP

Back to top

2022-2023 Nominating Committee

See the NALP Membership Directory (member login required) to find contact information for Nominating Committee members and other leaders.

Clara Solomon (Chair)
New York University School of Law

Michael Nguyen (Vice-Chair)
Davis Wright Tremaine LLP


Anna Maria DeCia-Gualtieri
University of Windsor Faculty of Law


Rebecca Newberger
Kirkland & Ellis LLP

Jim Walsh
Temple University Beasley School of Law


Heather Day DiFranco
Benesch Friedlander Coplan & Aronoff LLP

Katie Overberg
Drake University Law School


Julia Jackson
Vinson & Elkins

Aisha Joseph
New York Law School


Elisabeth Beal
William & Mary Law School

Sheryl Roberts
Smith, Anderson, Blount, Dorsett, Mitchell & Jernigan, LLP

West/Rocky Mountain

Benson Lee
Jenner & Block LLP

Laurie Powers
Gonzaga University School of Law

Back to top

National Association for Law Placement, Inc.® (NALP®), 1220 19th Street NW, Suite 510, Washington, DC 20036-2405, (202) 835-1001 [email protected], © Copyright 2023 NALP


View Full Site