NALP Board of Directors and Leaders

NALP members may click here to access contact information for NALP's Board of Directors and other leaders.

Board of Directors
Regional Structure
Regional Leadership Council
Conference Planning Coordinators
Nominating Committee
Officer Position Descriptions


Board of Directors 2024-2025

See the NALP Membership Directory (member login required) to find contact information for Board members and other leaders.


Rebecca Calman
Sullivan & Cromwell

Vice-President for Member Services and Education

Jessica Buchsbaum
Bilzin Sumberg Baena Price & Axelrod LLP

Vice-President for Finance

Michael J. Ende
William & Mary Law School

Vice-President for Diversity, Equity & Inclusion

Sylvia James
Winston & Strawn LLP


Alison Ashe-Card
Duke University School of Law


Shannon Burke
Chapman and Cutler LLP

Craig R. Compton
University of California Davis School of Law

Keya Dasgupta
Norton Rose Fulbright Canada LLP

Jennifer Gewertz
Arnold & Porter LLP

Myriah Graves
Fogler, Rubinoff LLP

Tammy King
Washburn University School of Law

Alisa Benedict O'Brien
University of Akron School of Law C. Blake McDowell Law Center

Cassandre Stump
New York University School of Law

Rashida West
Drexel University Thomas R. Kline School of Law

Immediate Past President

Tony Waller
University of Georgia School of Law

Regional Structure

NALP members within the United States fall into one of five regions: Northeast, Mid-Atlantic, Southeast, Midwest, and West/Rocky Mountain. Each of these general regions elects two representatives to the Nominating Committee, two Regional Representatives, and one Conference Planning Coordinator. The Conference Planning Coordinators play a significant role in planning and implementing specific components of the Annual Education Conference. The Nominating Committee solicits nominations for all NALP elected positions, slates members for the Officer and Director positions, and administers the election process.  The Regional Representatives serve on the Regional Resource Council and facilitate the flow of information between members and the Board, identify regional issues and volunteer opportunities, and support the existing groups in the region (e.g. city groups).

At the 2006 NALP annual business meeting, the bylaws were amended to permit creation of limited regions, and in July 2006, the NALP Board of Directors voted to make Canada NALP's first limited region. Limited regions elect one person to serve on the Nominating Committee or as a Conference Planning Coordinator in alternate years. Limited regions also elect one Regional Representative each year to serve a one-year term.  Limited regions permit broader governance participation by members who are in geographic areas that do not currently have the numbers to support full regional status.

For more detailed information about NALP's structure, nominations and election process, and opportunities to become involved, visit the "About NALP" section of NALP's website at

NALP Geographic Regions

MID-ATLANTIC (MA) New Jersey (southern), Delaware, Pennsylvania, Maryland, District of Columbia, Virginia.

MIDWEST (MW) Ohio, Indiana, Illinois, Missouri, Kansas, Nebraska, Iowa, North Dakota, South Dakota, Michigan, Minnesota, Wisconsin.

NORTHEAST (NE) Maine, New Hampshire, Vermont, Massachusetts, Connecticut, Rhode Island, New York, New Jersey (northern).

SOUTHEAST (SE) West Virginia, North Carolina, South Carolina, Georgia, Florida, Tennessee, Kentucky, Arkansas, Alabama, Mississippi, Louisiana, Puerto Rico, Texas, Oklahoma.

WEST/ROCKY MOUNTAIN (W/RM) Arizona, New Mexico, Utah, Colorado, Wyoming, Idaho, Alaska, Hawaii, California, Nevada, Washington, Oregon, Montana.

CANADA (Limited Region)

Back to top

2024-2025 Regional Leadership Council

See the NALP Membership Directory (member login required) to find contact information for Regional Representatives and other leaders.


Ryan Baker (2023-2025)
Bereskin & Parr LLP

Stephanie Mui (2024-2026)
University of British Columbia Peter A. Allard School of Law


Lisa Pachucki (2023-2025)
Kirkland & Ellis LLP

Freda Coleman-Jackson (2023-2025)
Washington & Lee University School of Law

Elisabeth Beal (2024-2026)
William & Mary Law School

Carlita Head (2024-2026)
Willkie Farr & Gallagher


Ayanna Ryans-Holder (2023-2025)
Perkins Coie LLP

Kerry McLean (2023-2025)
Columbia University School of Law

Emily Bruemmer (2024-2026)
Boston University School of Law

Bijal Shah (2024-2026)
Skadden, Arps, Slate, Meagher & Flom LLP


Katherine Christoff (2023-2025)
Keating Muething & Klekamp PLL

Jacqueline Russell (2023-2025)
Chicago-Kent College of Law Illinois Institute of Technology

Alecia Bencze (2024-2026)
University of Akron School of Law C. Blake McDowell Law Center

Luke Lemmeier (2024-2026)
Jones Day


Precillia Soares (2023-2025)
Holland & Knight LLP

Giovonni Wade (2023-2025)
University of North Carolina School of Law

Ashley Alford (2024-2026)
White & Case LLP

Veronica Elizalde (2024-2026)
St. Mary's University School of Law

West/Rocky Mountain

Jennifer Tran (2023-2025)
Cooley LLP

Matt Etter (2023-2025)
Seattle University School of Law

Darell Alforte (2024-2026)
UC Law San Francisco

Carrie Vawter (2024-2026)
Scale LLP

Back to top

2024-2025 Conference Planning Coordinators

See the NALP Membership Directory (member login required) to find contact information for Conference Planning team members and other leaders.

Christina Henry (Chair)
Schulte Roth & Zabel LLP

Samantha Ciriaco (Vice Chair)
Case Western Reserve University School of Law

Heather DiFranco (Vice Chair)
Benesch Friedlander Coplan & Aronoff LLP

Samantha Zandman (Vice Chair)
The Ohio State University Moritz College of Law

Sharon Buckingham
Villanova University Charles Widger School of Law

Tanisia Charles (Southeast)
Jones Day

Ashley Gardner (WRM)
O'Melveny & Myers LLP

Jodi Haley
Roger Williams University School of Law

Lauren Jenkins (Mid-Atlantic)
Crowell & Moring LLP

Paul Johnson (Midwest)
Chicago-Kent College of Law Illinois Institute of Technology

Sherien Khonsari
Columbia Law School

Natalie Lamb
Willkie Farr & Gallagher LLP

Mary Beth Nielsen
Southern Methodist University Dedman School of Law

Swati Parikh (Northeast)
New York Law School

Natalie Quinn
Fox Rothschild LLP

Waleska Vernon (Canada)
Paliare Roland Rosenberg Rothstein LLP

Back to top

2024-2025 Nominating Committee

See the NALP Membership Directory (member login required) to find contact information for Nominating Committee members and other leaders.

Marlon Lutfiyya (Chair)
Neal, Gerber & Eisenberg LLP

Aisha Joseph (Vice-Chair)
New York Law School


Christi McAuley
Thompson Rivers University Faculty of Law


Janell Mallard
Wiley Rein LLP

Tom Lee
Pennsylvania State University Dickinson Law


Katie Hoekstra

Amy Nixon
Chicago-Kent College of Law Illinois Institute of Technology


Yujin An

Leslie Becker Wilson
University of Massachusetts School of Law


Anna Friesenhahn Whitener
Perkins Coie LLP

Beth Lee
Southern Methodist University Dedman School of Law

West/Rocky Mountain

Kathren Davis
Pillsbury Winthrop Shaw Pittman LLP

Robin Apodaca
USC Gould School of Law

Back to top

National Association for Law Placement, Inc.® (NALP®)
1220 19th Street NW, Suite 510, Washington, DC 20036-2405
(202) 835-1001 [email protected]
© Copyright 2024 NALP


View Full Site